LiveRC Menu

Current Event

2022 Visions Off-Road RC Championships

All Coverage Watch Live View Results

Current Event

2022 Visions Off-Road RC Championships

All Coverage Watch Live View Results


Finley and Branson Win EWS Round 4

Race Results



Race report by Zak Finlay

Team Xray UK team attended round 4 of the Essex Winter Series race in the UK this past weekend and were looking to secure some great results in the both the stock and modified classes.

With a packed entry it was sure to be an excellent day’s racing and the expectation did not disappoint.

In 13.5 Super Stock, Zak Finlay was able to take the top spot in all four rounds of qualifying to line up in the TQ position for the single leg A-Main.
He would be followed in 2nd and 3rd place by the XRAY’s of Marcus Askell and Ricky Copsey.

A relatively calm final would see Zak lead from start to finish to take the win from Marcus, whilst Ricky suffered a mechanical issue to force a retirement on the first lap.

Overall Stock 13.5 Top 10

  1. Zak Finlay XRAY X4
  2. Marcus Askell XRAY X4
  3. Ashley Wiffen
  4. Dani Young
  5. Sam Nicholls
  6. Adam Southgate XRAY X4
  7. Martyn Ross
  8. Mark Buonaiuto
  9. Billy Fletcher
  10. Tony Broad XRAY X4
  11. Ricky Copsey XRAY X4

In Modified, Kyle Branson would repeat the success of his teammate Zak in the stock class by taking the win in all four qualifying. He would start the final from the TQ position and needed to take the win to guarantee the overall series championship. Harley Eldridge would start the final from 4th position. Damian Giddins also had a solid day to start from 10th place on the grid.

The final saw Kyle make a great start and build a small lead, which he was able to maintain for the whole race to take the win. Harley would take the race to Chris Grainger for the fight for 3rd place but would eventually have to settle for 4th.

Overall Modified Top 10

  1. Kyle Branson XRAY X4
  2. Alex Thurston
  3. Chris Grainger
  4. Harley Eldridge XRAY X4
  5. Andy Murray
  6. Stefan Chodzynski
  7. Richard King
  8. Ben Moorey
  9. Damian Giddins XRAY X4
  10. Gareth Hollis
  11. Daniel Robins

With the win in both stock and modified, Zak and Kyle have now won both series championships for XRAY with one round still to go in March.

blog comments powered by Disqus


About the Author

Tyler Hooks is a recent college graduate with a BBA in management and a Minor in Communications from St. Edwards University as well as a ROAR Stock National Champion and was apart of the IFMAR World Championship USA team in 2016. Tyler is currently an Editor as well as in the Advertising department at Live Race Media and frequently is apart of the broadcast team at major events.

Recent comments