LiveRC Menu


FLASHBACK FRIDAY: Former Dirt Nitro Challenge champions

Special Features


Main Photo: FLASHBACK FRIDAY: Former Dirt Nitro Challenge champions

By Aaron Waldron 

Everybody knows that Friday is meant for reminiscing old times. Each week we take you back in time as we flashback to some of R/C racing's greatest moments, products, drivers, and more!
Flashback: 2000
Every former winner of the Pro 1/8-scale classes at the Dirt Nitro Challenge

The 19th annual Dirt Nitro Challenge kicks off on Wednesday of next week, when the nitro off-road community (as well as tons of large-scale and U4RC racers) will gather at the Fear Farm R/C Raceway in Phoenix, AZ for what has grown from humble roots — a small two-day event at a community track build adjacent to an elementary school playground — into the biggest event in radio control racing.

The original The Dirt Raceway in Hemet, CA hosted the DNC from 2000 through 2006, and when the track closed the race moved to the Nitro Pit in Wittmann, AZ where it was held until 2011. Following the closure of the Nitro Pit, Joey Christensen and his The Dirt Racing crew moved the race to its current location, the Fear Farm R/C Raceway in Phoenix.

LiveRC has covered The Dirt Nitro Challenge every year since 2011 - click through these links to check out our pictures:
2011 Photo Gallery -
2012 Photo Gallery -
2013 Photo Gallery -
2014 Photo Gallery -
2015 Photo Gallery -
2016 Photo Gallery -
2017 Photo Gallery -

Get ready for next week's race by brushing up on your history of the drivers who've crossed the finish line first.

Pro Nitro Buggy
YearDriverCarEngineTires2000Richard SaxtonThunder TigerRB/O'DonnellGRP2001Chad BradleyKyoshoO.S.Pro-Line2002Richard SaxtonKyoshoRB/O'DonnellGRP2003Jeremy KortzKyoshoO.S./O'DonnellPro-Line2004Ryan CavalieriKyoshoSirioPro-Line2005Jared TeboKyoshoRB/O'DonnellGRP2006Taylor JamesJammin'O.S.Pro-Line2007Mike TruheTeam Losi RacingNovarossiPro-Line2008Ryan CavalieriTeam AssociatedTeam OrionPro-Line2009Ryan MaifieldTeam AssociatedReedyJConcepts2010Ryan CavalieriTeam AssociatedTeam OrionPro-Line2011Jared TeboKyoshoTeam OrionAKA2012Ty TessmannHB-HPI RacingO.S.Pro-Line2013Ryan MaifieldTeam AssociatedLRPJConcepts2014Ty TessmannHB-HPI RacingO.S.Pro-Line2015Ryan MaifieldTeam Losi RacingTeam OrionJConcepts2016Ryan CavalieriTeam AssociatedMxAKA2017Ryan MaifieldMugen SeikiREDS RacingJConcepts
Pro Nitro Truck
YearDriverTruckEngineTires2006Mark PavidisKyoshoO.S.Pro-Line2007Mike TruheTeam Losi RacingNovarossiPro-Line2008Ryan CavalieriKyoshoTeam OrionPro-Line2009Ryan CavalieriTeam AssociatedTeam OrionPro-Line2010Ty TessmannHB-HPI RacingO.S.Pro-Line2011Jared TeboKyoshoTeam OrionAKA2012Ty TessmannHB-HPI RacingO.S.Pro-Line2013Ty TessmannHB-HPI RacingO.S.Pro-Line2014Ty TessmannHB-HPI RacingO.S.Pro-Line2015David RonnefalkHB-HPI RacingTeam OrionAKA2016Ty TessmannHB-HPI RacingO.S.Pro-Line Racing2017Ryan MaifieldMugen SeikiREDS RacingJConcepts

Pro Electric Buggy

YearDriverCarMotor/ESCTires2009Chad BradleyJammin'/Tekno RCCastle CreationsPro-Line2010Travis AmezcuaMugen Seiki/Tekno RCLRPPro-Line2011Steven HartsonTeam AssociatedLRPJConcepts2012Ty TessmannHB-HPI Racing/Tekno RCTekinPro-Line2013Billy FischerTeam Losi RacingNovakPro-Line2014David RonnefalkKyoshoTeam OrionAKA2015Ty TessmannHB-HPI Racing/Tekno RCTeam OrionPro-Line2016Ryan MaifieldTeam Losi RacingTeam OrionJConcepts2017Ryan MaifieldMugen SeikiTeam OrionJConcepts
blog comments powered by Disqus