LiveRC Menu


FLASHBACK FRIDAY: 2011 ROAR 1/8 Electric Off-Road Nationals at the HobbyPlex

Special Features


Main Photo: FLASHBACK FRIDAY: 2011 ROAR 1/8 Electric Off-Road Nationals at the HobbyPlex

By Mike Garrison 

Everybody knows that Friday is meant for reminiscing old times. Each week we take you back in time as we flashback to some of R/C racing's greatest moments, products, drivers, and more!
We are less than a week away from the start of the 2018 ROAR 1/8 Electric Off-Road Nationals at the Hobbytown HobbyPlex in Omaha, Nebraska. This is not the first time that the fully enclosed HobbyPlex indoor 1/8-scale off-road track has hosted this event. For this week's Flashback Friday we travel back in time to the last time this event was held at The Plex in 2011!
The 2011 edition of this event was all about Kyosho's Jared Tebo. Tebo would win both 1/8 Electric Buggy and Truck, however, not without a fight from his competitors. 
In the buggy class Tebo set TQ and was an A1 winner, but a mistake at the end of A2 allowed Ryan Maifield to take the win. It all came down to A3, and the two drivers went head-to-head for the overall win. In the end, Tebo would take the A3 win and the overall buggy title.
A1 - 1/8 Electric Buggy
A2 - 1/8 Electric Buggy
A3 - 1/8 Electric Buggy

2011 ROAR 1/8 Electric Buggy Results:
  1. Jared Tebo (TQ)
  2. Ryan Maifield
  3. Ryan Cavalieri
  4. Ryan Lutz
  5. Cody King
  6. Mike Truhe
  7. Jeremy Felles
  8. Steven Hartson
  9. Austin Blair
  10. Jesse Robbers
Tebo was strong throughout qualifying in truck as well, however, it was TLR's Mike Truhe who would earn TQ honors. An early race mistake in A1 allowed Tebo to take the lead and drive to victory. A2 started out much better for Truhe, however, disaster would strike with a DNF mid-race. Jared would capitilize on the misfortune of Truhe to take the A2 win and overall truck title.
A1 - 1/8 Electric Truck

A2 - 1/8 Electric Truck

2011 ROAR 1/8 Electric Truck Results:
  1. Jared Tebo
  2. Mike Truhe (TQ)
  3. Cody King
  4. Jesse Robbers
  5. Josh Alton
  6. Jason Hills
  7. Ty Campbell
  8. Tony Bacon
  9. Austin Blair
  10. Chico Alvarado
blog comments powered by Disqus